Why was my disability claim denied for SGA?

Were you denied Social Security disability benefits due to SGA? Do you know what SGA stands for? Do you know how the Social Security Administration calculates SGA? This post goes into detail about what SGA is and why it is important to understand.

What is SGA?

The term SGA describes a person’s level of work activity and earnings. Substantial work means you are doing significant mental or physical activities or a combination of both. If you earn more than a certain amount of money and are doing substantial work, the SSA will find that you are engaging in SGA.  If you work at SGA, your claim for disability benefits will be denied. Examples of SGA include: contract work, being an employee of a business, and running a small business. Even if you are only working part-time, it can be considered SGA.

What Is Not Considered SGA?

There are lots of activities the SSA does not consider as SGA.  Examples of non-SGA activities include: household chores, going to school, things you do to take care of yourself or activities of daily living, involvement in school activities, and physical, occupational, or mental therapy.

Why was my disability claim denied for SGA?

To receive Social Security disability benefits, your medical condition must be serious.  Your medical conditions must prevent you from doing more than an insignificant amount of work. The Social Security Administration uses the Substantial Gainful activity -SGA- standard to determine if you have worked too much. If the SSA concludes you are working at the SGA level, you are ineligible for benefits.

Disability claim denied for SGA- the lawyers at Chad Brown Law can help

Were you denied disability due to SGA? Do you need help determining if you qualify for Social Security disability benefits in North or South Carolina? Contact Chad Brown Law today for a free case evaluation

Our firm focuses on three practice areas: Disability, Personal Injury, and Eminent Domain. Every practice area has attorneys who have expertise in their respective area of practice. 

Chad Brown is a North Carolina Board Certified Social Security disability law specialist. Mr. Brown helps Social Security disability claimants at all stages of the disability process. He also works with people that have Long Term Disability denials and with people that are injured by drugs and defective medical products.

Your Questions Answered